Graduation: check! On to the Visa

28 Jun

One more thing off my pre-trip checklist with graduation two weeks ago from yesterday. (Have I really been an OU Alum for two weeks now? yikes!)

Now I’m throwing all my efforts into getting my travel visa.  Because I’m staying for a long ammount of time (more than 6 months) in Spain, I am required to get my visa. At first I thought it would be a simple process, but in reality it involves not one, but two trips to the nearest consulate in Chicago along with many documents and photocopies.

The complete list of items required for a student visa are listed at the consulate’s website. There are also a number of different consulates depending on your home state, but most require an FBI background check along with many other documents so its important to get started early. I have my appointment set up for July 12th, so I’m going to be checking the list often to make sure I have everything in order.

Lesson of the Day: A forced trip to Chicago might not be the worst thing that has happened to me this summer. I just hope I don’t spend all my cash on the magnificent mile!

2 Responses to “Graduation: check! On to the Visa”

  1. Cameron June 28, 2010 at 4:14 am #

    hey, emily, it’s cameron. i was in chicago last summer for lollapalooza, and ohhh my goodness, the magnificent mile has lots of cool stuff. their nike store was neat, their apple store was neat, their disney store – something i avoid like the plague – was nice, just.. it was an all-around nice experience.

    • emily June 28, 2010 at 4:25 am #

      I haven’t been in a few years, so I can’t wait to see Chicago again! I remember the huge nike store…any other recommendations of things to see?

Leave a Reply

