To Pack or Not to Pack

24 Jul

As I slowly prepare for my trip, one question has been looming over my head: how the heck am I going to get all my stuff into a suitcase?

After looking up luggage fees and purchasing a few new pieces of luggage (the nice kind with 4 wheels!) I have finally decided that minimalism or minimalismo might just have to be my new motto.

Just about every major airline allows 1 carry-on bag (at 40 lbs or less) and one personal item (purse, backpack, etc.) For trips to or through Europe/India, usually a checked bag (at 50 lbs or less) is included in the price. Additional bags or bags weighing more that 50 lbs but less than 70 lbs are subject to an additional fee of around $50.

So now that I know my limitations, this leaves only the actual packing left to do. As a good rule of thumb, I’ve learned to set everything aside that I want to pack and then cut it in half. It’s also important to consider climate, versatility, and room for souvenirs.

My Lesson of the Day: Just because I can afford to pack 140+ lbs. of luggage doesn’t mean I can carry it.

4 Responses to “To Pack or Not to Pack”

  1. Kyle Grantham July 24, 2010 at 3:06 am #

    Best rule to remember: Don’t pack any toiletries, you can just get them there (though they might not be all that cheap) and it leaves you more room for clothing. Also make sure you weigh them before you leave a couple times. Easiest way is to weigh yourself then weigh yourself holding the back and subtract. Didn’t take me long to figure that one out. Have fun!

  2. Kristina Wegscheider July 24, 2010 at 3:06 am #

    Great post, Emily! I struggle with “what do I really need” every trip! I always like to be covered in those off-chance situations when, in fact, I can likely buy most of those items abroad!

  3. mr. obbs July 29, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    spinner suitcases are the best!

    when i was traveling around France and Germany back in the day, I somehow only had two bags– a backpack and a messenger bag. Not sure how I did that for two weeks…

    • emily July 30, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

      Thanks for all the comments and packing tips!
      mr. obbs, I’m impressed! I can’t believe how little you packed. I’m going to remember this when I get ready to start packing!

Leave a Reply

