Getting to work

2 Oct

October has arrived! And with it comes my first day of work. In the stress of finding an apartment, settling in, trying to speak Spanish and getting to know the city, I almost forgot about my purpose for being here: teaching!

I was told to come to work at 10 am on Oct. 1 to start my first day of teaching, so I arrived at Las Fuentezuelas a little early – which is practically unheard of here in Jaén. I went up to the secretary to explain who I was, what I was doing and that I needed to see Manolo, who was preparing my schedule. Instead she called one of the English teachers to come meet me.  At least she didn’t show me the door?

The nice English teacher wound me around the school – back outside, up a few flights of stairs and into the department de formativa, which apparently means working with computers.

I met with the staff and my colleague Silvero took me for a tour of the school, stopping to fill out paperwork and get a café con leche and some toast with olive oil. Then we went back upstairs to chat a little more before break time at 11, which brought more café con leche and toast with olive oil. I tried my best to keep up with the conversation, but had a hard time following the 5 men shouting over one another in Spanish. Hopefully I’ll be able to keep up soon?

Finally, we went back upstairs so they could show me around the department’s classrooms. I found out that I’ll mostly be working with alumnos (students) between the ages of 18 and 24. So much for teaching little kids! And as we took a look around the classrooms, I couldn’t help but notice that the classrooms were packed full of guys blatantly staring at me.  Yikes, hope this year goes smoothly!

After putting in an exhausting (not) two hours of work, I headed back to my piso to finish painting my bedroom.

My Lesson of the Day: Just because things don’t always go the way you plan, doesn’t mean that there can’t be a silver lining. I’m staying positive about the year to come.

Leave a Reply

