Save the drama for your madre

5 Oct

As I’ve written before, I finally have a home in Jaén! I could not be happier with my piso, but I had yet to meet my roommates… until this past Sunday.

Let me preface this by saying that I knew something was up between two of my roommates, who had lived together before, But I had no idea what was going to happen. They showed up like a storm. The first one coming in with printed messages and texts from the other in order to try to get her thrown out. The second arriving with a friend, who we jokingly referred to as her “bodyguard.” Needless to say, I was feeling a bit incomoda.

So I decided to break the ice. “I imagine that we need to talk about things, because there is a little tension in the room.”

Consider the ice shattered.

What followed was a 20 minute “discussion” between the two, during which I made out a lot of “he said she saids” and “thats not trues” This was never going to end.

At last, I decided to intervene. I basically just asked them if they thought they could live together for the next year without fighting and that was that. One decided to move out. Leaving us with 3 roommates in a 4 bedroom piso. Luckily, the first person to come to look at our place, loved it and we are once again four.

I can only say that I have high hopes for having a less-dramatic year. My three new spanish-speaking roommates all seem extremely nice and we are planning to all end this year bilingual! And if I ever get too stressed out, I at least have this beautiful view to keep me peaceful:

My Lesson of the Day: They always say that its more difficult to live with girls. I’m beginning to think there may be some truth to that.

One Response to “Save the drama for your madre”

  1. Mom October 5, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

    AHH Emily the peacemaker! Glad things are working out and yes it is harder to live with, and for the most part work with girls until you get to know them and their quirks. If you accept the quirks things usually work out well.

Leave a Reply

