Casi Española

6 Oct

As I went to sign my apartment contract the other day, my landlord asked for my passport number in place of a residence number. When she found out that I now have an official foreigners number, she announced that I’m casi española (almost Spanish).

The N.I.E. (Número de Identidad de Extranjero) that my landlord was referring to signifies that I now have the ok to stay in the country. I’ve only completed the first of several appointments to obtain my official card, but getting a N.I.E. is the first step.

With my N.I.E., I opened a bank account and signed my contract, which makes this a pretty important string of 9 letters/numbers. This number will also allow me to stay in the country until my teaching assignment is over.

As for the teaching, I’ve been slowly progressing. It’s definitely been a learning process for me and my school. We’ve been moving day-by-day to figure out my schedule and what I’ll be doing. Mostly, I’ll be working one-on-one sessions with the professors in my department, but I also will help out in one class – about databases. Today was my first day with the students (about 14 boys and 1 girl) and they all seem nice. They’re a little timid when it comes to speaking in English, but I think it will be a good year.

Today, I also gave my first private lesson. One of the counselors at my school wanted a native speaker for conversation classes with his 14-yr-old daughter. I’m pretty excited to continue with the private lessons, and it will definitely be a good supplement to my income.

Well, the sun is starting to set here in the Parque Bulevar so I guess this blog is done. Time for some tapas and bed.

My Lesson of the Day: I think I’m becoming more Spanish than I realized. Not bad for less than a month!

One Response to “Casi Española”

  1. Mom October 6, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

    Glad to hear that you are becoming more Spanish but don’t forget your roots. Spanish class dropouts couldn’t have possibly produced a spanish adult.

Leave a Reply

