Una excursión al Quejigo del Amo

26 Oct

This past Sunday, instead of staying in and sleeping until the afternoon (like I have on previous Sundays), my American friend Lauren, our Spanish friend Luis and I decided to do something a little more adventurous – we decided to go on a hike to see a tree.  Yes, we really hiked 10 km (about 6.2 miles) to see a tree.

This marked my first real trip outside of Jaén city since my arrival a little over five weeks ago. Most people find it hard to believe that I haven’t traveled further away to bigger cities, but I have to say that I’ve been so happy living in Jaén that I haven’t wanted to travel very much.  But for my first trip outside of the city, we didn’t travel too far.

About 20km south of Jaén city, but still within Jaén province, lies the Quejigo del amo, the tree which we went to see. But this isn’t just any tree, it can even be found on the map of Jaén province as a natural monument of interest.  I have to say that the tree was pretty cool, but the adventure was more in the trip than in the actual destination.

We had to travel up gravel roads that wound up and down the various mountainsides. The sometimes treacherous road was big enough for only one car at a time, but that didn’t pose too much of a problem, seeing as we only passed the occasional land rover during the journey. This definitely wasn’t a major tourist destination. In fact, I think we saw more sheep than people during our hike.

After reaching the tree at last, we had lunch underneath and hung out for a while to enjoy the scenery and take some pictures before heading the 5km back downhill to where we parked the car.

On our trip back, we made a stop in Valdepeñas de Jaén – a small pueblo south of Jaén city. In the town, we found a hiking trail that wound around the river and up into the forest, passing waterfalls and bridges along the way.

 

All in all, it was a pretty successful and adventurous Sunday. We returned to Jaén with just enough time to go out for Chinese food with some of the other auxiliares (language and culture assistants – like me). All the fresh air and food put me right to sleep!

My Lesson of the Day: It’s not always about the destination, it’s about how you get there.


2 Responses to “Una excursión al Quejigo del Amo”

  1. Ann Schultz October 26, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

    Love reading your posts. You are a good writer. See college paid off! Anyway, what is the significance of the tree? Looked like average tree….hmmm, I wonder.
    Love ya, and glad you are having quite an adventure-Ann

  2. Mom October 26, 2010 at 7:18 pm #

    Thanks for two days of posts in a row. And I am with Ann on this one. Looks like a tree to me!
    Love you,
    MOM

Leave a Reply

