Halloween in España

3 Nov

Nothing to me says fall more than Halloween. From the moment the leaves start to change, you can find candy in the stores, scary movies on TV and carved pumpkins on doorsteps. And for as long as I can remember (with maybe the exception of 7th grade when I was “too cool” to dress up) I have always worn a costume for Halloween. While I might have to take a second to thank Athens, Ohio for perpetuating my love for Halloween, I wasn’t about to let Spain stop me from enjoying this holiday. Albeit if I had to adjust a few of my own traditions.

To say that Spain doesn’t celebrate Halloween would be a lie, because the holiday has clearly made it’s way to the Iberian Peninsula. But Halloween is more of a new installment here in Andalucia. The Spanish aren’t shy when it comes to having fun, so the younger generation has adopted the holiday and I have been told that it appears a little stronger with each year. Halloween also coincides with the Spanish all saints day (todos los santos) on Novermber 1st, which is considered a national holiday from work and school.

But the appearance of Halloween in Andalucia has come with a few adjustments. For example, I didn’t see a single carved pumpkin nor a single trick-or-treater, although they do exist. I also had a hard time finding Halloween candy, which is apparently only in big chain stores like the Corte Ingles.

Finally, the biggest difference for me was that everyone dresses up in costumes de miedo (scary).  While in the U.S. you can see many scary costumes, we also have our fair share of princesses, super heroes, and funny costumes. Unfortunately for me, I was in the U.S. mode of thinking when Lauren and I purchased the perfect hippie costumes, so we had to improvise. A few minutes and a box of paints later, we were transformed into the perfect “dead hippies.”

As we were staying in Granada, we also helped our hosts out with some last minute costumes, which you can see here:

After getting dressed up, we headed out to the streets of Granada to enjoy the nightlife. I would say that a little less than half of the people at the bars were dressed up. But I enjoyed Halloween just the same. While it was a far cry from OU, Granada proved to be a fun place to celebrate Halloween.

My Lesson of the Day: Sometimes compromise is a good thing. Dressing up de miedo was a lot more fun than I’d imagined.

2 Responses to “Halloween in España”

  1. the Lonnemans November 4, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

    Emily,

    As your Aunt Ann says, “Some people go to parties and some people are the party”. Clearly, you continue to keep that fun gene at the surface. I had to look twice at your photo to see that it was really you.
    We love you and are always glad to read your posts.

    Boo!
    Aunt Ellen

  2. Nicole Feldman November 8, 2010 at 2:14 am #

    That’s a pretty awesome costume Emily 🙂 i dig the face paint. I was Darth Vader. Glad to see that some people and some country still celebrate the holiday. miss you

Leave a Reply

