The little oven that could

27 Nov

First of all, Happy (belated) Thanksgiving! or as they say it here in Spain, Dia de Acción de Gracias.

This year marks my busiest thanksgiving by far! Determined to share this American holiday with everyone here, I decided to make the first thing I think of when I think of Thanksgiving dinner: pumpkin pie!

So the day before Thanksgiving, Lauren and I headed to the supermarket to buy ingredients, which is a task in itself. Three stores later, we finally found almost everything and set out to make pumpkin pie – from scratch.

So we baked, and baked, and baked until nearly 1:30am using my “oven”. Most of the apartments I’ve seen here don’t come with an oven (or a dryer). And although mine technically does, its more of what we call a toaster oven. However, it did the job and the pumpkin pies were a hit.

Pumpkin pie isn’t common here, and everyone was a little hesitant at the sound of a pie made from a gourd. But I shared some with my roommates (who loved it), and I took one to school with me.

We had a small Thanksgiving celebration during our breakfast break, which we have in place of a lunch. After school, a few of my students took me out to lunch to celebrate their first Thanksgiving.

Then it was back home to start cooking a few more things for our big Thanksgiving day dinner with the foreigners. There ended up being over 30 of us for the dinner (which we ate late – on Spanish time). I think we counted 6 Spanish, 3 English, 2 French, 2 Mexicans, 1 Welsh, 1 Canadian, 1 Irish, 11 Americans and then some. Talk about a multi-cultural Thanksgiving!

My Lesson of the Day: I’ve got a lot to be thankful for.

3 Responses to “The little oven that could”

  1. the Lonnemans November 27, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

    Emily,

    You are the hostess with the “mostest”.
    Look at all you have gathered to honor the tradition of giving thanks.
    We missed you more than you will ever know while in Florida.
    Keep smiling.

    • Grandma and Grandpa November 28, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

      Dearest Emily,
      Your name came up often – very often as we thought about you, missed your smile and so appreciate your pictures with friends! The weather was perfect – five nights of perfect sunsets – sun on water, one night with a few clouds with the sun shining thru them making them appear GOLDEN! clouds of gold!
      We loved the day of SKYPING and I am grateful for capable grandchildren – Brook giving you a panoramic view of the Turtle Watch Condo was pretty good – and then thru the doors and out onto the porch to see the sand, sea oats and surf – pretty wonderful – and I MISS EVERYONE – LOVE – Grandma

  2. mom November 29, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

    Hey Em, Looks like quite a diverse crowd. We missed you at the beach but I would say you surrounded yourself with good people.
    Love you

Leave a Reply

