Emily vs. Laundry

29 Nov

One of the things that I miss the most from my home back in the U.S. (besides my family and friends, of course) is having a dryer. Now I know that this may sound extremely materialistic, but you wouldn’t understand unless you were here.

At first I was excited at the thought of hanging my clothes out to dry. How eco-concious! I even began to think that dryers were a frivolous invention. Why would we ever need dryers when clothes can dry by themselves, airing out in the sun? I didn’t even mind that I had to wait several days before my clothes were dry.

But the one thing I didn’t think of was rain. Weeks and weeks of rain. It has been raining or sprinkling for over a week now, which makes doing your laundry very difficult. But desperate times (aka I don’t have any clean socks) call for desperate measures and I set out to do all my laundry.

After dumping about half a load of laundry water all over my kitchen floor, I finally had t-shirts hanging from the roof, sweatshirts slung over chairs, and socks pinned up to dry. As night-time approached, I collected the damp items and started hanging them inside the house to finish drying, leaving several items outside to dry.

This morning I woke up to the dripping of rain, feeling relaxed at the thought of not going into work today. But then I remembered my almost-dry laundry out on the terrace. So much for almost-dry! The rain water had completely soaked them, which meant another turn in the washer and another round of drying.

Now, I have clothes hanging from every nook of my room. And as I listen to the drip. drip. drip. of water on the marble floors, I eagerly anticipate being able to wear the clothes in about 2 days when they finally dry.

My Lesson of the Day: Emily – 0; Laundry – 1

3 Responses to “Emily vs. Laundry”

  1. Kristina Wegscheider November 29, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

    Great post Emily! I have had the same problem when abroad!

    And don’t you love how when you do find a dryer that it is like a 1/4 of the size of an American one?

  2. Nicole Feldman December 3, 2010 at 12:20 am #

    Oh thats hilariously horrible

    • emily December 3, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

      The worst part is that my clothes finally dried today and when I put on my shirt, it smelled bad! Who does laundry for 5 days just to get smelly clothes?

Leave a Reply

