Its beginning to look a lot like Christmas

18 Dec

With Christmas only a week away, I’ve packed my bags, charged up my American cell phone and I’m ready to head back to the U.S. I’m so excited to see my family, my friends, the snow and everything else in Cincinnati, but a little part of me is sad to leave Spain during such a beautiful time of the year.

Here, all the streets are decorated with lights, there are street markets open with gifts and theres even a whole market devoted to belenes, or nativity scenes. And I’ve learned that the holidays here are celebrated a little differently than back in the states.

Papa Noel, or Santa Claus, isn’t as big of a deal here. And many kids don’t even get presents on the 25th, but instead receive gifts from the three wise men who come on the night of January 5th. I will be back just in time to celebrate Dia de los Tres Reyes Magos, but for now I’m concentrating on my trip home.

I’ve got an overnight bus ride, 3 airplanes and 4 airports to navigate, but I’m sure the 24+ hours of travel will fly by!

My Lesson of the Day: It’s a little strange to take a vacation to home.

Leave a Reply

