A little trip to the doctor

14 Jan

I woke up feeling a little sick… about 2 weeks ago and I don’t think I’ve ever fully recovered. Between all of my traveling and resettling, I’ve really just decided that I don’t have time to be sick. So I chugged some more orange juice, took my medicine and went about my normal routine.

I was a little alarmed last night when my roommate asked me if I wanted her to take me to urgent care.  I laughed at first – it sounded a little too dramatic for me, but it planted a seed. Maybe I really did need to do something about this.

Then I went to school this morning without much of a voice (which is unfortunate because my main purpose and most of my day is spent speaking!). After suffering through half an hour of trying to talk and listening to all my coworkers tell me that I needed to go to the doctor, I caved. But how was I supposed to find a doctor and make an appointment if I didn’t have a voice to talk on the phone?

That’s where my principal came in. Even though he is probably one of the busiest people I have met (being a principal in a school with 1500+ students is not easy) he spent a good part of the hour making phone calls, figuring out where I could go with my insurance and setting me up with a private doctor. I’m so grateful to have had his help or I’d probably still be searching for a doctor!

So anyways, I trekked over to the doctor, but not before going home to get books, some blank postcards, and various other activities to occupy my time because I was sure there was going to be a long wait. There always is with doctors.

However, I showed up 10 minutes early and the doctor herself answered the door to the clinic and ushered me straight back to her office. The appointment took all of five minutes for her decide that I had an infection and to write out a prescription for what I needed.

I was starting to get a little nervous, because I knew that I would have to pay for the visit and then get reimbursed from my insurance. I only had a little money on me, so I already had devised a plan of leaving behind my valuables while I ran to the ATM to take out cash. (Spain still runs almost runs solely on cash.)

Sure enough, she told me they didn’t take credit cards. So I asked the dreaded question: “Cuánto cuesta?” and braced myself for the response.

Trienta,” she responded.

I was shocked! Only 30 euros for the visit! Now I know it wasn’t much of a visit, but how much would that have set me back in the U.S.? I’m sure my co-pay would have been somewhere around the ballpark of 30. And the best part is she told me just to drop by as soon as I’m finished with my antibiotics so she can make sure I’m better — free of charge.

Feeling on cloud 9 (and a little stupid for not having gone to the doctor sooner) I strolled back down to the farmacia, and paid the 13 euros for my two prescriptions.

My biggest shock however came when I got home and opened my antibiotics for my first dose. I’m taking a powdered antibiotics that you mix in water and surprisingly tastes really good! I just hope it works!

My Lesson of the Day: While sometimes the simple things take me a long a time to do here, it feels good when something so complicated goes so smoothly!

2 Responses to “A little trip to the doctor”

  1. mom January 15, 2011 at 1:08 am #

    Now theres a health care system that we could look into in the good ole’ USA. Glad you went and hopefully her quick diagnosis will be a better one then the hour and a half wait at the little clinic.
    Feel better soon. And thank your principal for us.

  2. the Lonnemans January 16, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    Emily,

    So much to know, right?
    So glad to learn of your principal’s kindness. There are so many good people in our lives.
    Stay healthy.
    We each love our bufondas…but not more than we love you.
    Aunt Ellen

Leave a Reply

