Menu del dia (one of the many things I love about Spain)

30 Jan

I know it’s been a little while since my last post, but I thought I’d start back up with a pretty awesome concept to end January: the menu del día.

I know you’re probably thinking, “My high school Spanish class was enough for me to translate that,” and “What could possibly be so great about a menu of the day?” But let me tell you…

The menu del dia can be found at many restaurants and for about 9 euros, you can get a full 3 course meal – drink, dessert and coffee included. (Does the coffee count as a 4th course? possibly.) Could there be a better way to spend a lazy Saturday/Sunday/Monday??

Typically, you can choose from a list of some of the best Andalusian food possible, including some of my favorites: migas, salmorejo, and patatas a la pobre. Before you know it, you’ve been posted up at the restaurant, chatting and eating for nearly 2 hours. Then the only logical thing to do next is to return home for a siesta, or in my case try to walk off some of the olive-oil-soaked food that you just consumed.

My Lesson of the Day: Not only do you get an amazing meal, it’s also quite economical. The large lunch leaves you so full that you save money on dinner.

3 Responses to “Menu del dia (one of the many things I love about Spain)”

  1. Christi J January 30, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    I was really excited about being able to translate that until you said “My high school Spanish class was enough for me to translate that”. Keep living it up over there!!

    • Aunt Debbie February 1, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

      please tell us what migas, salmorejo, and patatas a la pobre are!

      • emily February 1, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

        migas are breadcrumbs cooked up in olive oil with peppers and other good stuff… kind of like stuffing

        salmorejo is a cold soup that is like gaspacho (made of pureed tomato, cucumbers, onions, etc.) only it has cream and egg inside

        and finally, patatas a la pobre are potatoes cooked in olive oil mixed in with eggs, garlic, peppers, etc.

        All three are so good! I’ll have to learn how to make them so I can come home this summer and do some cooking!

Leave a Reply

