My best Spanish birthday (yet)

9 Feb

Last week (February 3rd) was my 23rd birthday. While I was a  little bummed about spending it so far away from home, I had no idea that it would end up being a wonderful birthday. Some of the highlights include getting a bunch of birthday cards in the mail from home, being surprised by students with cake and gifts, and going out for dinner and drinks with some of my friends.

It was a fun, if not exhausting weekend. One of the funnier highlights was running into my students at the bar. As I turned around from getting a drink at a local cafe/bar, I was shocked to see about 5 of my students, all wide-eyed and staring up at me.  All of them are recently 18, which is the legal drinking age here in Spain, but it was as if they had seen a ghost at the bar. So much for being a good role model? haha At least I can say that I was the sober one out of the group.  I will give them props for trying to speak in English the whole time and they were very nice – asking me to come back to their class again soon, but maybe next time I´ll stick to going out at more adult locations? haha

My Lesson of the Day: It´s ok to run into your students at the bar as long as it’s your birthday, but it is wise to say no when they ask you to do  shots with them.

2 Responses to “My best Spanish birthday (yet)”

  1. Amy Bingham February 9, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    Hey Emily!!
    I didn’t know you were teaching in Espana! I am applying to do the same thing right now! Who did you go through? Where are you teaching? Any tips?!? Hope you’re have a fabulous time! And happy birthday!!

    • emily February 9, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

      Hey Amy! That’s awesome that you want to do the same thing here in Spain! I love it and i highly recommend the experience. I’m living right now in Jaén, Spain in Andalucia and its beautiful. I’m even thinking about staying for another year. I went through CIEE but the spanish government also has an application for the same thing. We’ll have to chat more about everything! Hope all is well!

Leave a Reply

