When Two Worlds Collide

27 Sep

As I sit in one of the only two hostels of Lucena (my new home for the year), it’s hard to imagine that just 24 hours ago I was fighting through the crowds of people in Manhattan’s Penn Station. Talk about culture shock! Try going from the high-rises and propetual motion of New York City – population 8,000,000 – to the quiet streets and tranquil plazas of Lucena, Spain – population 40,000. Not to mention changing languages and time zones.

My tour guide and I in Times Square

But first the beginning: the big apple. After making it to 16 countries in 23 years, I figured now was as good a time as any to jump into the craziness that is New York City. Was I prepared for what I was about to see? Probably not. But thanks to the 25 cent guide book courtesy of Grandpa Bob, I arrived to the city sounding like I knew what I was talking about. But truly it was my awesome tour guide, Michelle, that got me from Subway A to Subway B and taught me the correct pronunciation of “Houston”. After only a short weekend in the city we managed to cram in Times Square, the Eiffel Tower, Central Park, NYU, Chinatown, Brooklyn, Little Italy, Rockefeller Center, The New York Public Library and so much more.

The question of the trip: Could I ever see myself living in NYC? Truth is, I was more concerned with whether I could live in Lucena, Spain!

Lucky for me, a mere taxi ride, 2 flights, 2 trains, 2 buses, 6 time zones and 24 hours later, I was able to get a better handle on that question as I arrived in Lucena. Luckily, I was greeted at the bus stop by another auxiliar, Anna, and headed to the hostel. The quiet of the small streets was almost eerie compared to the chaos of the ones I had come from. But sometimes contrast is good. After a stroll around the town and a Coca-Cola Light in the lively main square, I think the answer is yes… to both.

I would love to live one day in a big city like New York, but for now I’m pretty content on settling into small town España. Apartment searching and school visits to come in the morning!

Today’s Word: el piso (n.): apartment; as in: “If I don’t find a piso quickly, I’m going to be sleeping in the park.”

6 Responses to “When Two Worlds Collide”

  1. mom September 28, 2011 at 1:13 am #

    First of all I am glad you made it safe and sound. Second, really the Eiffel Tower, the last time i checked was in Paris and i don’t think it has moved recently. Thirdly, I hope you find an apartment quickly but please make sure it is a right fit before you move in and we spend hours debating on whether you should live there or not….haha. Feel free to skype me any time, i just love your adventures.
    MOM

    • emily October 3, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

      Haha I meant the statue of liberty… Whoops! I guess that’s what jet lag will do to you! At least they were made by the same person, right?

  2. Elizabeth Lonneman September 30, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    Seems like have been busy traveling, apartment shopping, and hopefully catching up on some well needed sleep. All I have to say is Lucena is very lucky to have you.
    With Love,
    Elizabeth

    • emily October 3, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

      Thanks Elizabeth! I’m going to talk tomorrow about trying to set up something with your class… Hope it works out! miss you!

  3. Aunt Debbie October 2, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    The Emily en Espana adventures continue! Thanks for keeping your family and friends at home updated, and who knew they would weigh your carry on??? You’re too funny….

    • emily October 3, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

      Thanks for continuing to read aunt Debbie! Miss you!

Leave a Reply

